Zest and Herbs

First foray into breadmaking

This weekend I had my first attempt at baking my own bread! It’s something I’ve been wanting to do for a while but as it takes quite a bit of time and effort, I’d been putting it off.  With  The Great British Bake Off back on TV at the moment, now seemed as good a time as any to give it a go.  My wariness when it comes to bread however, is really down to inexperience and I’m not hugely clued up to finer details of yeast science, like the contestants on GBBO.  I had yeast, flour and time and no excuse.

I used Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference wholemeal seeded bread flour, since I wanted something comparable to kind of bread I usually buy.  Plus, surely it would be harder to produce something inedible when using better quality ingredients, right?  After one failed attempt at getting my yeast started (in my desperate attempt not to kill the yeast, the water was too cool and it didn’t even wake up), I had a lot of fun.  With music blaring for the mixing and kneading and a couple of hours surrounded by cookery books while the dough was rising, it was a very relaxing afternoon.

The bread on the other hand had a bit of a scorched top, rose somewhat wonkily and after performing the Paul Hollywood thumbprint test, I think it might have still been a smidge underbaked.  It tasted just like a reasonable wholemeal loaf though, so I’m rather pleased with my efforts.  I’ll be making bread again, even if it is just an excuse for houmous…

One comment on “First foray into breadmaking

  1. julie.davis
    September 17, 2013

    Got your post! At least it didn’t end up suspended from a tree- the bread that is

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 17, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .

Older posts

Don't miss a new post! Click follow for e-mail alerts

Join 723 other followers

Top Posts

